Pugwash Transfer Station closing January 23 & 26, 2021

The Pugwash Transfer Station will be closed Saturday January 23, 2021 & Tuesday January 26, 2021. Notice of further closures will be announced prior to January 26, 202.

Municipality of Cumberland Council reconvenes for 2021

Council of the Municipality of Cumberland met via zoom for their first meeting of 2021 on Wednesday, January 13, 2021.

Read more ...

Job Posting: Community Centre Maintenance Casual

The Municipality of the County of Cumberland is currently accepting resumes for the postion of Community Centre Maintenance Casual.

Read more ...

Municipal Service Centres to modify hours

Effective January 11, 2021 Service Centres within the Municipality of Cumberland will adapt their hours to allow for increased social distancing for staff.

At the E.D. Fullerton building in Upper Nappan, a lobby limit of two people at a time will be enforced. The Upper Nappan Service Centre will be open Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to noon and 1 p.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Hours at the Dr. Carson and Marion Murray Community Centre, Springhill Service Centre and Parrsboro Service Centre remain as they have.

Read more ...

Local Improvement By-Law Public Hearing


Local Improvement By-Law

Date: Wednesday, January 13, 2021
Time: 6 p.m. Via Zoom

Read more ...

Lead Testing Information

The Municipality of Cumberland operates three water utilities – Parrsboro, Pugwash and Springhill. Health Canada and the Nova Scotia Department of Environment have regulations regarding the quality of drinking water and the tests to ensure the quality is maintained. Results in the Parrsboro Water Utility have determined that there are incidences of increased lead concentration in some of the samples.

Read more ...

Municipality of Cumberland Council wraps up 2020

Council of the Municipality of Cumberland met via zoom for their final meeting of 2020 on Wednesday, December 16, 2020.

Read more ...

Call for Citizen Appointments to Committees of Council

Make a difference in your community by volunteering to be a citizen representative on one of the following committees.

Audit Committee (3 positions)
Border Entrance Committee (2 positions)
Cumberland Energy Authority (2 positions)
Cumberland RCMP Management Advisory Committee (3 positions)

Source Water Protection Committees
North Tyndal (1 position)
Pugwash Water (3 positions)
McAloney Lake (1 position)
McElmon Brook (1 position)
Leaminton Brook (1 position)

Read more ...