Accessibility Tools


Volunteers of Year

The Municipality of Cumberland honoured more than 20 people for their commitment to the community and others during a volunteer reception at the Dr. Carson & Marion Murray Community Centre in Springhill on Thursday, April 20.

The theme of this year’s Volunteer Week celebration was Volunteering Weaves Us Together. This reveals the importance of volunteering to add to the strength and vibrancy of our communities through the interconnected actions we take to support each other.

These forms of sharing our time, talent and energy strengthen the very fabric of our community.

“We are so thankful for everything our volunteers do, whether it’s fire departments, or legions, museums and many service organizations across our county,” Municipality of Cumberland Mayor Murray Scott said. “We owe so much to these people. They are the true backbone of our community.”

The mayor said volunteers come from all walks of life and their service is to young people, seniors and all facets of the community. The work they do is immeasurable and could not be replaced if the municipality or some other organization had to do it.

“Imagine if you removed all those volunteers and the work they do in our communities, if the municipality would look a lot different. We’d be much less of a community without them,” the mayor said.

The municipality honoured Linda McCormick as its adult volunteer of the year and Ethan Rose as its youth volunteer of the year.

McCormick has volunteered in many roles around Springhill and area for more than 15 years, including the Salvation Army Food Bank and most recently in a leadership role with A Hand Up Society – a charitable organization that assists with food security in Parrsboro and Springhill.

She has created and sourced funding for Food For Thought, a weekly food bag program that provides students in need with nutritious foods for their families at no cost.

McCormick, nominated by Springhill’s elementary schools, is resourceful in applying for grants and funding and recognizing the need for milk products, produce and protein, she developed a coupon for the purchase of these products.Her energy and passion for helping others has inspired so many in the community to also offer their time to help those in need.

Rose, a resident of Brookdale and a Grade 12 student at Amherst Regional High School was nominated by the SOAR Community Health Board, of which he is an active volunteer.

He is respectful, open to listening to new ideas and always contributes to the conversation. His energy and commitment are an inspiration. With SOAR, his focus has primarily been on poverty reduction advocacy and his work helps many people across Cumberland County living in poverty by helping to remove barriers and eliminate the stigma that’s associated with living at or below the poverty line.

He has also helped with projects that have an immediate impact on people, including Coats for Cumberland which helps people – especially children – stay warm in the winter and the Community Christmas Dinner which not only feeds people but brings them together on Christmas Day for some fellowship and helps build community at a time when many are alone.

This year’s recipients included:

  • Anna Hergert and Chris Kent – Nominated by Hike Nova Scotia
  • Carol Hurley – Nominated by Red Cross
  • Donald Forbes – Nominated by the Parrsboro Lions Club
  • Dylan St. Peter – Nominated by Local Resident Chef Randy Gangoo
  • Mike Spears – Nominated by Amherst Red Cross
  • Sharon Smith – Nominated by the Cumberland Y Service Club
  • Charles Kennedy – Nominated by the Wallace Area Development Association
  • Helen Thompson – Nominated by the Springhill Sr. Citizen and Retired Pensioners Club
  • Melissa Kingan – Nominated by the Springhill Senior Citizens’ Organization
  • Heather Cochrane – Nominated by the Springhill and Area Lions Club
  • Jessie Hiltz – Youth Volunteer Nominated by Maggie’s Place
  • Jill Joseph – Nominated by Springhill Junior-Senior High School
  • Judy Amos – Nominated by the Cobequid Chapter IODE
  • Karen Cormier – Nominated by the L.A. Animal Shelter
  • Linda Littlejohn – Nominated by the Parrsborough Shore Historical Society
  • Melissa Langille – Nominated by Wentworth Learning Centre
  • Michael Cunningham – Nominated by Cumberland Trail Association
  • Earl Gilbert – Nominated by Springhill Ground Search and Rescue
  • Nancy and Harold Carde – Nominated by the Minudie Heritage Association